- As part of John of Dunscombes' estate in the early 1800s, this land became the property of the British military in 1816. A stately home was constructed on the site for high-ranking British officials stationed at the nearby dockyards. Over the years, tunnels were excavated beneath the structure to join to the caves that led to the cliffs. The house was later abandoned and demolished in 1951, with only remnants of the ballroom surviving. Today, visitors can enjoy strolling through the colorful vegetation and exploring the ruins.
- © wcities.com 2013