Explore London

Where to Watch or Dodge the Royal Wedding in London

Events — By Erin Gallagher Maury on April 27, 2011 at 11:55 pm
Pin It

Royal wedding merriment has arrived in London, it cannot be avoided. The Tube is full of visitors hoping for a glance at the royal couple, territorial tents have popped up along the procession route, worldwide media is on every corner, the security barriers are in place and for a country whose majority claims to be disinterested in the nuptials this Friday, the mood is rather jolly. Street parties are planned from central London to the suburbs and the bunting can be spotted strung across every pub, primary school, and shop. Rain is forecast for the special day but in true British spirit, the party must go on. My garden celebration invitation suggests donning Wellington boots and a fascinator for an afternoon of Pimm’s and Pride. Where will you be watching the momentous affair?

Pimm's for the royal celebration

Pimm's for the Royal Wedding

flickr image: Phillie Casablanca

Television Screenings & Street Parties

Trafalgar Square and Hyde Park will host complete coverage of the procession, the ceremony, and traditional balcony snog from Buckingham Palace. Food stalls and licensed bars will serve guests throughout the festivities and a full schedule of entertainment is guaranteed.  Hyde Park has erected a 60 meter celebration wheel for the nuptials much like the London Eye for a bird’s eye view of the action. Gates open at 7am.

Sam’s Brasserie Royal Wedding Street Party
If you would prefer to steer clear of central London, head west to Chiswick for Sam’s Brasserie’s Street Party.  Arrive early for breakfast from 9am and watch the official event live on their big screen. From midday to 6pm the soiree promises live music, food, hymn singing, wedding decorations, and waiters in wedding attire.

The Real Street Food Festival
A street party on the Southbank with food fit for a king. Friday through Monday street food vendors will churn out the proper fare while guests watch the event on yet another giant television.

Chelsea Physic Garden Wedding Day Special Opening
Not a street party per se, this one is a garden party. Nestle into one of London’s finest hidden gardens for a day of finger food and festivities.
Chelsea Physic Garden
9am-10pm

London readies for the Royal Wedding

flickr image: WolfieWolf

While Sipping Afternoon Tea

Watch the monumental occasion while noshing on a posh traditional afternoon tea spread at the indoor street party in the Belgravia Room. Decorated with bunting, flags, and all things British at The Berkeley. £46.50 per person, call +44 (0) 207 201 1619 for reservations.
10am

Along the Procession Route

Join the masses (who have already  started to mark their territory) along the procession route if you dare, 1.5 million spectators are predicted.

  • 10:50 Kate will travel by car from Buckingham Palace along the Mall, Horse Guards Parade, Whitehall & Parliament Square to Westminster Abbey
  • 12:15 Mr & Mrs and members of the royal family will process in five horse drawn carriages on the same route in reverse for the reception at Buckingham Palace
  • 1:25 Buckingham Palace balcony wave/kiss
  • 1:30 RAF Fly past
  • More timings

Royal wedding procession route

Watch at Home

Rain is still predicted for the big day; therefore, those fair weather fans may prefer to view the shindig from the comfort of their living rooms.  Just about every television and radio station will be reporting from the scene and do not forget the live stream on youtube.com/The Royal Channel.
Time zones: 2am PST, 5am EDT, 10am BST London, 11am CEST, 2:30pm IST, 7pm EST, 9pm NZST

For the Anti-Royalist

Why bother trying to escape the frenzy, give in. If you would rather not to get caught checking out anything royal, follow all the action on Twitter
@wabbey
@clarencehouse
tag #rw2011

Tags: #rw2011, April in London, Royal events london, royal wedding, where to watch royal wedding
x
Next Post:

Read More »