Holyrood Park Road
EH16 5BT Edinburgh, United Kingdom
tel: +44 131 625 8625 (Tourist Information)
fax: +44 131 625 8601(Tourist Information)
Holyrood Park, also called the Queen's Park, is a Royal Park in Edinburgh free and open to the public. It is a huge area of parkland, rough terrain, lochs, hills and crags including Arthur's Seat, the Salisbury Crags, and St. Anthony's Chapel. The three lochs are St Margaret's Loch, Dunsapie Loch, and Duddingston Loch.
It is popular with joggers, tourists and hikers, who can enjoy stunning views of Edinburgh all the way across the Firth of Forth to Fife from the peak of Arthur's Seat and the Crags. The park is adjacent to the Scottish Parliament and the Dynamic Earth museum at the bottom of the Royal Mile.
The park was created in 1541 when James V
had the ground "circulit about Arthurs Sett, Salisborie and Duddingston craggis" enclosed by a stone wall.
Get here by car: Arthur's Seat (the main hill in Holyrood Park) is visible from just about anywhere in Edinburgh. Follow signs to the Palace of Holyroodhouse visitor car park, on the south side of the palace.
Photo courtesy of Holyrood Park and Arthur's Seat