- In 1827 the Turku Academy was moved to Helsinki as the Russians came to power and the capital changed. The Academy needed a place to operate, so C. L. Engel designed a building on one side of the Senate Square; it was completed in 1832. The Academy began its operation and changed its name to the Imperial University. After Finland became independent, the name was changed again, to the University of Helsinki. The yellow main building is a close match to the Senate Building opposite, in dimensions, colour and style. The completion of this building brought the finishing touches to the uniform group of Empire—style buildings surrounding Senate Square. The University is one of Helsinki's main landmarks. The interiors of the building are very beautiful: the stairwells, stone floors and statues create a balanced but interesting whole. The stunning main festival hall is also a sight to behold. Still, the main reason for admiring this building is its outer form, the sense of balance it creates together with the Senate Building.
- © wcities.com 2013