- Originally called "Cairn Lodge", this elegant home was built around 1836 for Robert Pitcairn, a lawyer and an advocate against exportation of convicts. When seafarer Captain Charles Bayley bought the property in 1864 he renamed it "Runnymede" after his favorite ship. The National Trust manages the property and have restored and furnished it in keeping with a gentleman's residence of the period. The charming garden overlooks New Town Bay on the river and features historic trees and plants.
- © wcities.com 2013