Ohel Yitzhak Synagogue



User Rating:


Address:

HaGai Street
Jerusalem,

NileGuide Expert tip:

Get there by walking through the arch at the north western corner of the Western Wall Plaza. Turn right at the end of the tunnel past the security and you'll see the signs to Ohel Yitzhak.

Description:

The original Ohel Yitzhak synagogue was opened in 1904 and was one of the most beautiful in the Old City.  It had the distinction of being closest to the Temple Mount.  The synagogue was abandoned during the Arab riots of 1939 and destroyed after the Jordanian occupation of the Old City in 1948.

During the restoration, archaeologists found coins dating from the first century as well as a monumental staircase leading to the Tyropean Valley and to the area known as Warren's Gate, the closest entrance to the Holy of Holies.

Today, visitors can see the synagogue restored to its original look.

© 2014 NileGuide.com   ·   Blog   ·   Facebook   ·   Contact Us   ·   About Us   ·   Privacy Policy   ·   Terms & Conditions