Even though it’s the smallest of the Andean countries (about the size of Colorado), Ecuador is full of cultural and natural wonders. The Galapagos Islands, known for their biological diversity and beauty, are just the beginning. Ecuador is home to beautiful indigenous markets with traditional handicrafts sold by the Quechua-speaking natives. Travelers are often drawn to the capital, Quito, a UNESCO World Heritage site for being the best-preserved and least altered historic center in Latin America. The adventurous come to climb the many hills and mountains that are home to amazing Incan ruins, as well as visit the country’s many national parks and preserves.

Regions in Ecuador

Central Highlands

The Andes are the world's longest continental mountain range and they lie as a continuous chain of highland along the western coast of South America. And they consist of over 30 volcanic cones, many over... read more

Northern Coast

Ecuador's northern Pacific coast and its surrounding lowlands are often neglected or avoided by foreign visitors to the country. The region, however, is not without its charms. The beaches of the northern... read more

Northern Highlands

The Northern Highlands include the upper section of the Andes, Quito, and The Pululahua Geobotanical Reserve. Pululahua is a Quichua word that means “cloud of water” or fog and is the name of a collapsed... read more

Southern Coast

Quito may be the historical and political capital of Ecuador, but Guayaquil is the country's largest city and its economic motor. It's also the primary gateway to the Galápagos Islands, with virtually every... read more

Southern Highlands

Geographically, the Southern Highlands are very similar to the other Andean Highland regions of Ecuador; however this region is also home to Cuenca, the third largest city in the country. The Southern Highlands... read more

Contact   ·   Privacy   ·   Terms